Introduction to Haematology Unit

. Last Updated: 08 September 2016Hits: 24191


The Haematology Unit was established in 1962. This Unit aims to develop new and advanced molecular cytogenetics techniques. It is involved in studies of haematological malignancies: gene rearrangement studies in leukaemia, cryptic rearrangements and masked translocations, characterisation of gene deletions in acute myeloid leukaemia by comparative genomic hybridization (CGH), detection of minimal residual disease in myeloid leukaemia and the monitoring of response to therapy using fluorescence in-situ hybridization (FISH) and molecular techniques.

Haematology unit activities divided by two parts: 
I) Diagnostic

• Chromosome Analysis
• Leukaemia Mutation
• Acute Myeloid Leukaemia Mutation
• Chimerism

• Thalassemia
• Genetic Disorder Disease
• Haemophilia B

II) Research

Research and Development
• Acute Myeloid Leukaemia (AML)
• Lymphoma
• Chronic Myeloid Leukaemia (CML)
• Childhood Leukaemia
• Multiple Myeloma
• Acute Lymphoblastic Leukaemia (ALL)
• Chronic Lymphocytic Leukaemia (CLL)
• Brain Tumor

Stem Cell
• induced Pluripotent Stem Cell (iPSC)
• Mesenchymal Stem Cell (MSC)
• Cancer Stem Cell
• Stem Cell Therapy

Click here to download Stem Cell Research infosheet